DocSend 简化 500 Startups 的融资流程

对于 500 Startups 来说,DocSend 提供的洞察力、效率和优势使该团队能够充分利用与有限合伙人、投资者、投资组合公司和其他初创公司的互动。

500 Startups 是一家致力于发现和投资全球最有才华的企业家的风投公司。在 500 Startups 的支持下,创始人们创造了大范围成功的公司,并建立了蓬勃发展的全球生态系统。该公司在全球拥有 100 多名团队成员,通过四个全球基金和 14 个专门针对特定地域市场或垂直领域的主题基金,在 74 个国家/地区投资了 2200 多家公司。

当涉及到为其基金筹集资金时,由于该公司的全球业务,500 Startups 有一套特别复杂的合规要求。因此,该公司必须审查每个潜在投资者,以确保符合全球基金营销规则。

这个过程可能非常缓慢乏味,也是造成许多摩擦的根源。一些潜在有限合伙人深陷这个过程,以至于他们完全放弃了尝试查看商业计划书。

此外,500 Startups 缺乏投资者关注的焦点。哪些有限合伙人需要跟进?哪些资料是查看者花了最多时间审核的?他们在什么位置跳过了内容?这些都是重要的数据点,如果应用于商业计划书本身,500 Startups 的融资将更加高效。然而,一旦将投资者添加到基金数据室中,500 Startups 控制或跟踪特定文档中投资者参与度的能力就很难跟踪。此外,将投资者引入基金数据室的过程也很笨拙。必须创建一个帐户来查看数据室,并且每次都必须签名才能查看基金文件,这被视为投资者的一个障碍。

自发现 DocSend 以来,500 Startups 已将其融资过程提升到新的水平。DocSend 无缝而安全的浏览体验立即消除了 500 Startups 在分享资产和资料方面一直存在的登录障碍。此外,借助 DocSend 的高级分析功能,500 Startups 团队对哪些有限合伙人正在参与他们发送的文档以及哪些没有参与,有一个清晰的认识。500 Startups 团队甚至使用 DocSend 的安全存储空间,在一个可自定义的位置安全地存放所有相关的融资资料。

让我们更深入地了解一下。

利用 DocSend 提高融资效率

500 Startups 以前的合规性要求导致许多潜在客户流失;最初的阻力太大,潜在投资者往往会放弃这一过程。使用 DocSend,500 Startups 可以通过电子邮件与潜在投资者轻松共享基金文档的链接,并且可以在不牺牲安全性和跟踪谁在访问基金文件的能力的情况下,告别繁琐的发送者和浏览者的体验。

“DocSend 帮助 500 Startups 为投资者消除障碍,”500 Startups 合伙人 Sheel Mohnot 说。“现在,对双方而言都是无缝的体验。”

增强文档参与度洞察力

在使用 DocSend 之前,500 Startups 对基金资料查看者关注的内容知之甚少。有了 DocSend,500 Startups 可以获得每个参与其文档的用户的逐页细化分析结果。这些分析确定了跟进策略,它们使 500 Startups 融资团队能够确定哪些人需要跟进,哪些内容在查看者那里引起了共鸣(或没有引起共鸣)。500 Startups 现在有能力更好地组织和量化衡量他们的推广活动。

有了 DocSend,我可以看到投资者关注哪些领域,以及我在哪些地方痛失投资者。跟踪谁在查看商业计划书以及他们的注意力集中在哪里是非常有用的。
Sheel Mohnot

Sheel Mohnot

500 Startups 合作伙伴

DocSend 解决了版本控制和动态内容的问题

与潜在投资者开始对话后,500 Startups 会共享一个指向 DocSend 存储空间的链接,该链接包含基金文档,并为投资者提供所有信息的单一真实来源。因此,500 Startups 能够让投资者专注于他们的业务。

考虑到 500 Startups 互动的投资者数量,管理文档的版本控制很重要。文档更新一直都在进行,掌握哪些人已经查看了哪些版本的文档可能是一项挑战。通过共享 DocSend 链接,500 Startups 可以在幕后动态地对文档进行修改。此外,共享存储空间上更新的基金资料的链接消除了投资者必须登录到数据室才能查看更新文档的阻碍点。

“我们有很多实时文档,比如商业计划书,它们随时都在变化。”Mohnot 说道。“而有了 DocSend,这不再是问题,因为我们可以动态进行更改,并且查看者始终可以访问最新版本。”

简而言之,基于链接的访问使 500 Startups 能够确保只有那些应该有权访问 500 Startups 资产的人才能进行访问。版本控制使 500 Startups 能够确保那些拥有访问权限的人不会引用过时的资产。对于 500 Startups 来说,这是一对致胜法宝——它使一切变得不同。

结论

借助 DocSend,500 Startups 可以无缝、安全、智能地发送所有高风险的融资资料。跟踪和分析有限合伙人参与度,使该团队能够识别并专注于参与度较高的销售线索。DocSend 存储空间为 500 Startups 提供了完美的交易室平台,使所有与特定基金有关的资料井然有序,并(相互)易于获取。

用 Mohnot 自己的话来说,“事实已经证明 DocSend 对我们的内部流程非常有价值。现在,我们鼓励初创公司使用 DocSend 进行融资,也鼓励他们的销售团队使用 DocSend。”

对于 500 Startups 来说,DocSend 提供的洞察力、效率和优势使该团队能够充分利用与有限合伙人、投资者、投资组合公司和其他初创公司的互动。好奇您的企业如何才能做到这一点?单击此处开始免费使用 DocSend。

在任何情况下,此处的任何信息或内容都不应被解读为 500 Startups 或其任何关联公司或代表有意出售其建议的任何证券,或征求对其建议的任何证券的购买兴趣。在任何情况下,此处的任何内容都不应被视为潜在投资者考虑投资任何 500 Startups 投资基金的基金营销资料,也不应被视为 500 Startups 或其任何关联公司的法律、税务或投资建议。

安全文档共享,轻松实时分析

DocSend Streamlines 500 Startups’ Fundraising Process

For 500 Startups, the insights, efficiencies, and advantages DocSend provides empower the team to make the most out of their engagements with LPs, investors, portfolio companies, and other start-ups.

Partner Since
2017
Use Case
Fundraising
DocSend Plan
Enterprise

500 Startups is a venture capital firm on a mission to discover and invest in the world’s most talented entrepreneurs. With 500 Startups’ support, founders create successful companies at scale and build thriving global ecosystems. The firm, which has more than 100 team members worldwide, has invested in over 2,200 companies in 74 countries via four global funds and 14 thematic funds dedicated to either specific geographic markets or verticals.

When it comes to raising capital for its funds, 500 Startups has a particularly complicated set of compliance requirements due to the firm’s global presence. As such, the firm must vet each potential investor to ensure compliance with global fund marketing rules.

This process can be slow and tedious, and it was the source of much friction. Some LP leads were so buried in the process that they gave up trying to access the decks altogether!

Furthermore, 500 Startups lacked visibility into where investors were focusing their attention. Which LPs needed follow-up? Which materials did viewers spend the most time reviewing? Where did they bounce? These are all important data points that, if applied to pitch decks themselves, would make fundraising more efficient and effective for 500 Startups. However, 500 Startups’ ability to control or track investor engagement within particular documents was difficult to track once investors were added to fund data rooms. Moreover, the process of onboarding investors to the fund data room was clunky. Having to create an account to view the data room and having to sign in every time to view fund documents was seen as a hurdle for investors.

Since discovering DocSend, 500 Startups has taken its fundraising process to the next level. DocSend’s seamless yet secure viewing experience immediately removed the login barrier 500 Startups historically associated with sharing assets and materials. Additionally, with DocSend’s premier analytics, the 500 Startups team has a crystal clear picture of which LPs are engaging with the documents they send, and which aren’t. The 500 Startups team even uses DocSend’s secure Spaces to securely house all pertinent fundraising materials in one customizable place.

Let’s take a deeper look.

Increased Fundraising Efficiency with DocSend

500 Startup’s previous compliance requirements led to a number of lost leads—since there was so much initial friction, potential investors would often abandon the process. Using DocSend, 500 Startups can easily share links to fund documents with potential investors via email and can leave tedious sender and viewer experiences in the past without sacrificing security and the ability to track who accesses fund documents.

“DocSend helps 500 Startups remove barriers for investors,” says Sheel Mohnot, Partner at 500 Startups. “Now, it’s a seamless experience for both parties.”

Enhanced Document Engagement Insights

Before DocSend, 500 Startups had limited visibility as to what content within fund materials viewers were focusing on. With DocSend, 500 Startups has access to granular page-by-page analytics for each user who engages with their documents. These analytics define follow-up strategy since they enable the 500 Startups fundraising team to identify who needs follow-up and what is resonating (or not resonating) with each viewer. 500 Startups now has the ability to better structure and quantitatively measure their outreach.

With DocSend, I can see where investors are focusing, and where I am losing investors. Tracking who's seeing the deck and where their attention was focused has been super useful.”

Sheel Mohnot

Partner, 500 Startups

DocSend Solves for Version-Control and Dynamic Content

Once a conversation has started with a potential investor, 500 Startups shares a link to a DocSend Space that houses fund documents and provides investors with a single source of truth for all information moving forward. This has enabled 500 Startups to keep investors focused on their business.

Given the number of investors that 500 Startups interacts with, managing document version-control is important. Document updates are made all the time and keeping tabs on who has reviewed what version of what document can be a challenge. By sharing DocSend links, 500 Startups can make changes to documents behind the scenes dynamically. Furthermore, link sharing to updated fund materials on Spaces removes the friction-point of investors having to log into a data room to view the updated documents.

“We have many living documents, like pitch decks, that are changing all the time,” said Mohnot. “With DocSend, it’s not an issue because we can make changes dynamically and viewers always have access to the most updated version.”

In short, link-based access enables 500 Startups to ensure that only those who are supposed to have access to 500 Startups’ assets do. Version control enables 500 Startups to ensure that those who do have access aren’t referencing outdated assets. It’s a winning pair for 500 Startups—one that makes all the difference.

In Conclusion

With DocSend, 500 Startups sends all high-stakes fundraising materials seamlessly, securely, and intelligently. Tracking and analyzing LP engagement enables the team to identify and concentrate on high-engagement leads. DocSend’s Spaces has provided the perfect deal room platform for 500 Startups to keep all the materials pertinent to a given fund organized and (mutually) easily accessible.

In Mohnot’s own words, “DocSend has proven extremely valuable for our internal processes. We now encourage our startups to use DocSend, for fundraising as well as for their sales teams.”

For 500 Startups, the insights, efficiencies, and advantages DocSend provide empower the team to make the most out of their engagements with LPs, investors, portfolio companies, and other start-ups. Curious about how your business can do the same? Click here to get started with DocSend for free.

UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES SHOULD ANY INFORMATION OR CONTENT HEREIN, BE CONSIDERED AS AN OFFER TO SELL OR SOLICITATION OF INTEREST TO PURCHASE ANY SECURITIES ADVISED BY 500 STARTUPS OR ANY OF ITS AFFILIATES OR REPRESENTATIVES. UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES SHOULD ANYTHING HEREIN BE CONSTRUED AS FUND MARKETING MATERIALS BY PROSPECTIVE INVESTORS CONSIDERING AN INVESTMENT INTO ANY 500 STARTUPS INVESTMENT FUND NOR  BE CONSTRUED AS LEGAL, TAX OR INVESTMENT ADVICE FROM 500 STARTUPS OR ANY OF ITS AFFILIATES.

Why don't VCs sign NDAs for fundraising pitch decks?

And what can you do to minimize the chance your pitch deck is leaded?

Learn More